No Ghost- That’s the Goal

eternity-pic

I recently read an idea that may forever guide how I live my life.

“I mean, they say you die twice. One time when you stop breathing and a second time, a bit later on, when somebody says your name for the last time.” -Banksy

Although I am still in high school, I feel as though I share a distinct goal with those who have come before me, those who are around me, and inevitably those who will come after me. We never want to be forgotten. We all want to be remembered.

This defies time. This is how we each not only make our mark, but take the steps towards immortality. We never die; we have no ghosts. The human mind is an amazing universe within itself. It is through this that we determine eternity. 

Take any book character or historical figure that has passed on-Jay Gatsby, Albus Dumbledore, George Washington- they have never left. They live in the minds and words of people. Reality lies in the mind. So to live without a ghost, that is the goal.

12 thoughts on “No Ghost- That’s the Goal

  1. jtramble says:

    Very thought provoking post! If I reflect on it, I write to make sense of things but ultimately to be remembered and to leave my mark. The written word is really a wonderful way of saying I was here once and I tried my best to figure things out. 😊 I’ll definitely be reading more of your work.

    Like

  2. Ms. Eileen says:

    Your work is so thought provoking! We are all an infinite quantity of ticks on the timeline of the universe. When we truly understand our place in the universe, learning from those before us we understand our humanity. Our actions are mere imitations but put in realm with the heavens they become magnificent and memorable that carry from generation to generation. I will be reading more of your work! Thank you for sharing. You are so wise for a high schooler:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

